Skip to content
November 24, 2010 / recycledrose

Reflections on the 100 days of second hand clothing challenge

Well like I said I really did not know whether I would make it to day 100.. There were many days when I could not be bothered brushing my hair, having photos taken or having to resist the temptation of a beautiful new dress on sale. But I have to say, that it has been fantastic and really opened my eyes to all the amazing things you can get from op-shops. So what have I discovered are the benefits of op-shopping?

Cheap cheap cheap- on a uni student budget, you can get lots of amazing brands of clothing that are good quality for a fraction of the price. I personally would prefer a good brand of clothing in beautiful materials that is second hand than a cheapy looking dress on sale that is brand new.

Ethical fashion- When you see that cheap dress on sale at Supre and wonder how on earth it could possibly only cost that much, ¬†the reality is that someone has paid.. it’s just not us. There are heaps of people living in third world countries that pay with terrible wages and bad working conditions in sweat shops.

Environmentally friendly: Being kind to the earth doesn’t have to just be about buying organic cotton tee shirts or buying clothing that donates $1 from each of their sales to grow a tree. Not that I am knocking this stuff, but it is really as easy as re-using what we already have, rather than producing and buying more stuff that drives the consumerism cycle.

Unique style: Who wants to blend in with the crowd? It’s such a buzz when you find an amazing outfit that suits your style (not the style that is in every magazine) and people ask where you got it from, and you say ‘an op-shop’.. Say goodbye to turning up to a party wearing the same outfit as someone else!

Give and receive- After all this guilt free shopping, it means you have an opportunity to have a big spring clean of your wardrobe and give things back to charity.. It can be refreshing giving things away as it makes it a lot easier to find potential outfits in your wardrobe, plus it means there is more room for more op-shopping!

Thankyou to Nick (amazing photographer with bucketloads of patience) and everyone else for joining me on my 100 day second-hand clothing journey. All your positive comments kept me going and boosted my ego just a little! Finally I hope that I have inspired people in some way to go out and rummage through op-shops, have fun with fashion and enjoy finding some second hand treasure!

x x x

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mrs. McAwesome / Nov 24 2010 4:53 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. joanne / Nov 24 2010 5:57 pm

    well done on reaching the end, ive truely enjoyed checking out your outfits, you have inspired me to shopmore in opshops and ebay!

  3. Jac / Nov 25 2010 4:09 am

    Congratulations!! Although now I am sad I will not get to see the fabulous outfits you put together from your op shop adventures!

  4. holly / Nov 25 2010 12:03 pm

    Bravo. I’ve been an op-shopper since I was a teenager. Just returned from Japan and found great op-shops there too, who would have guessed? I endorse all the sentiments you express in your final post. The only things I wont buy second hand are underwear (!!) and shoes, tho’ I can stretch that rule for shoes if they are too fabulous to pass by.

  5. lauren / Nov 26 2010 6:55 am

    thanks lovelies!
    holly- you don’t wear secondhand underwear? i thought you were serious about op-shopping.. sooo joking!! yes underwear, tights and socks i definitely look for new. I can imagine Japan having cool little op-shops because I just think they are one of the most fashionable people on the planet- fell in love with the girls in harajuku

  6. Sequin Cat / Dec 21 2010 4:41 pm

    Congratulations on achieving this worthy goal. It’s been a wonderful adventure to watch! All the best for future projects, and keep on supporting sustainable shopping xx

  7. Ms Wanda / Feb 18 2011 3:18 am

    I’m sorry I’ve only just discovered your blog. Sounds like your journey was fun. I’m doing something similiar and really enjoying myself.

Leave a Reply

