Skip to content
November 13, 2010 / recycledrose

Day 89: European Christmas vintage fashion

Okay so if ever there was a day that I blogged and felt like a loser, this would be the one! I felt just a tad ridiculous wearing a beret, scarf and coat outside in the warm Australian sun!! I am actually going to be spending Christmas in Europe and expecting deathly cold weather and hopefully lots of soft white snow..So try to use your imagination when you see these pics and imagine snowflakes falling around me and cobbled stoned laneways in Austria 😉

Nick and I went to Mountain Design to buy thermals, but the thing is, I am so NOT a Mountain Design kinda gal.. Flouro coloured jackets, sporty wear, mountain hiking gear and beanies are just not me. And yes I am aware that the following outfit probably wont keep me warm and is highly impractical, but I fell i love with this vintage burgundy trench with its cream piping detail and large maroon buttons, plus it was only $6 and it is so hard to come by cheap vintage clothing nowadays

. I am also holding my nana’s exquisite gold beaded bag- it so stunning with all the beautiful detail and gold filigree metalwork it takes my breath away. I have no idea where I would wear it out, but I am thinking the opera in an Austrian palace may be a good start! eek I can’t wait for Europe!

Second hand vintage trench $6

Second hand Ray ban style sun glasses $4

Second hand vintage gold beaded handbag

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. jessperriam / Nov 13 2010 5:47 pm

    Good news – I love your trenchcoat (and may have to steal it from you!). Also, you won’t look like a tourist wearing that, therefore you won’t get pickpocketed like you would have been if you were sporting North Face, cargo pants and sneakers.

    Wear it! You’ll fit straight in!

    • recycledrose / Nov 14 2010 12:40 pm

      jess- that’s so good to know! you are free to have this trench when I get back from europe

      mcawesome- thanks! i was a little unsure of it as when my partner saw it, he asked whether it was pyjamas??! i put that down to him being a boy lol yes i was thinking i should have an op-shop shopping expedition some day

      • Mrs. McAwesome / Nov 14 2010 1:44 pm

        hmmp! Thats Boys for you!!!

        How about you celebrate 100 days with a lunch with your fans (like me!) and a take us to some of your favourite op shops!

        Hopefully I don’t seem like a stalker 🙂

  2. jessperriam / Nov 13 2010 7:13 pm

    Oh and ps… wear some tights with that! Your little legs will freeze!

  3. Mrs. McAwesome / Nov 13 2010 9:53 pm

    love the trench!!! please take me op shopping with you one day – you always find such lovely stuff.

Leave a comment