Skip to content
October 9, 2010 / recycledrose

Day 73: Margaret Rose

This is one of my all time favourite dresses for aesthetic and sentimental reasons. It is a special second hand dress because it was given to me by my nana, Margaret Rose and she wore it when she was only 21. I was close to my nana and after she died a few months ago, this is the first time I have worn it since.

It was the first time I have experienced someone close to me dying, and death is funny because it brings out all these strange ideas. Ideas and feelings like not wanting to wear this dress at all, it reminded me too much of her. In fact I didn’t even want to touch the dress, I just wanted everything to stay the same. And then when I considered wearing it, no occassion seemed special enough to honour the memory of her.. But you know what? Sometimes I think that maybe there will never be an occassion that is good enough, we only have today. And that is what I love about fashion, sometimes it is good to remind ourselves that we don’t have to wait until a special occassion to wear something beautiful or extravagant or meaningful or just plain sentimental. There is today and that is special too.

My nana’s silk dress with pink rose print

It is amazing how well this dress fits- the tailoring is so exquisite and feminine

 

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jac / Oct 9 2010 3:09 pm

    What a gorgeous dress! And what a lovely way to remember your grandmother! 🙂

  2. jessperriam / Oct 9 2010 6:17 pm

    Love you Loz, love your nana too – she was a wonderful, remarkable lady.

  3. opportunityknits / Oct 10 2010 1:08 pm

    This is such a pretty dress, and so special too, from your grandmother!

    • recycledrose / Oct 10 2010 3:38 pm

      Thanks all you lovelies for all your kind comments x x

  4. Lefanciullle / Oct 19 2010 2:22 pm

    This is SUCH a gorgeous dress, and a lovely blog. Great work 🙂 x

  5. Sequin Cat / Oct 23 2010 2:37 pm

    What a beautiful dress!

Leave a Reply

