Skip to content
July 4, 2010 / recycledrose

Day 4- Lacey lou i love you

It is getting colder and colder in Perth and hard not to wear all my op-shop clothes at once in hundreds of layers to resemble a bag lady.. I resisted and pulled out one of my all time FAVE op-shop tops, a white and blue lace ruffled top that has just the right amount of femininity with a little bit of edginess to it..

killababe lace top- $4 from good sammy’s

dangerfield shorts

vintage secondhand leather belt

retro white brass ‘basket of flowers’ necklace $12 from antique fair

I headed to Harbour Town and resisted more sales.. but I have to say, it was a lot easier than I thought. All of the clothes seemed to look the same and a lot of the materials in shops looked like they were of poor quality. I did see many new tops for $7 and I had to ask myself how little people must be getting paid in China, to sell a top that cheap and the store still make profit..

While walking around the shops I received compliments from 2 different strangers about my outfit and in particular this op-shop top.. maybe australia is getting ready to embrace op-shop clothing

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jac / Jul 4 2010 10:09 am

    I love the idea of this blog! What a creative challenge! Also, love this outfit! Looking forward to seeing how your 3 month challenge goes, good luck! 🙂

    • recycledrose / Jul 4 2010 1:47 pm

      thanks so much! it has actually been quite fun so far.. i think i have definitely been paying more attention to how i dress, knowing i have to post it on a blog each day! x x

  2. katiecrackernuts / Jul 4 2010 8:55 pm

    Fabulous. My op-shop challenge was quite shameless because I felt like I was doing it already but I did learn a lot along the way about the eco cost of the clothing and about how much goes to landfill. Disgusting amounts. Good luck with your challenge. I tend to agree with your comment about people commenting on your outfits. The diversity of a wardrobe that has been op-shopped means it’s different and got a lot of imagination going on. I have always had more comments on op-shopped outfits than store bought.

    • recycledrose / Jul 5 2010 2:11 am

      thanks Katie! yes I am always thinking about how often we buy things that end up in landfill either because we get sick of it or it breaks quickly because it is of poor quality.. i was looking at some beautiful antique furniture the other day and thinking to myself, they don’t make stuff of this quality anymore. The beauty of op-shopping is you can give it back once you are tired of wearing it to become someone else’s treasure!

Leave a Reply

